Different Categories of UE in LTE

Different Categories of UE in LTE

Categories of UE in LTE is divided by its function which is as per below.

eNB obtains the UE radio capabilities via:
• The S1AP initial setup request message
• The X2AP in case of handover
• The RRC in any other cases

eNB sends the UE radio capabilities to:
• The MME if it has been retrieved from RRC signaling
• The neighbor eNB in case of handover

UE category determines:
• MIMO settings
• PRB allocation and AMC limitation (e.g. 64QAM in UL)
• ROHC (Robust Header Compression) profile
• Inter RAT handover support

• All categories support 20 MHz
• 64QAM mandatory in downlink, but not in uplink (except Class 5)
• 2×2 MIMO mandatory in other classes except Class 1

Categories of LTE User Equipment (UE)

  1. Category 1 (Cat-1):
    • Designed for low-cost, energy-efficient applications.
    • Supports data rates up to 10 Mbps.
  2. Category 4 (Cat-4):
    • Common in mid-range devices.
    • Provides higher data rates, up to 150 Mbps.
  3. Category 6 (Cat-6):
    • Found in more advanced devices.
    • Supports Carrier Aggregation for increased data rates, reaching up to 300 Mbps.
  4. Category 12 (Cat-12):
    • Represents high-performance devices.
    • Enables even higher data rates, reaching up to 600 Mbps.
  5. Category 20 (Cat-20):
    • Found in top-tier devices.
    • Supports advanced features like 4×4 MIMO and higher-order modulation, achieving data rates up to 2 Gbps.
Recent Updates

Related Posts